Curriculum

We feel that not all children are ready for five days in school at these early ages.  Therefore, Chalkboard Preschool offers not only a five day program but two and three day programs also.  These programs are available for all age groups and you choose the number of days you want your child to attend.  The attitude of The Chalkboard Preschool is to provide for your child an environment that will influence his or her natural curiosity both intellectually and socially while at the same time retain your child’s individuality.  The curriculum will emphasize art, crafts, cooking, music, science and all types of play activities.  Although there is not a heavy emphasis on readiness, we feel it is something the children are learning through our daily activities.  We do not always stick to a rigid schedule.  If a learning experience presents itself the teachers and children will take advantage of it.  At the same time the program strives to teach respect for personal belongings and the belongings of others.  It is very important for the children to learn how to get along with their peer groups.

 

 

 

Printable Winter 2018 Curriculum PDF, Click to download!

Mon, Jan. 8               HAPPY NEW YEAR! Making 2018
Tues. Jan. 9               hats and noise makers
Wed. Jan. 10             “Winter Wonderland” Creating snowflakes, snow people
Thurs. Jan. 11             winter trees and mixing up some snow Slime! Reading “Snowmen
Fri. Jan. 12                  At Night”, “When it Starts To Snow” “Snowball” and “The Snowy Day”

Mon. Jan. 15             NO SCHOOL – MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. DAY
Tues. Jan. 16             Preparing our classroom bears for hibernation. Building warm, cozy
Wed. Jan. 17             caves for them and turning our jungle gym into a cave!
Thurs. Jan. 18           Talking about where animals sleep in the winter and learning about
Fri. Jan. 19                 artic animals. Making winter animal crafts and bird feeders.

Mon. Jan. 22              Cozy winter reading, designing our own pajamas
Tues. Jan. 23              and having pillow fights!
Wed. Jan. 24
Thurs. Jan. 25            P.J. DAY! WEAR YOUR FAVORITE PJS TO SCHOOL AND
Fri. Jn. 26                   BRING A BLANKET, STUFFED ANIMAL AND A FAVORITE
………………..DVD FOR A DAT OF FUN SNACKS AND MOVIE WATCHING! ALL
………………..CHILDREN WELCOME TO ATTEND ONE OF THESE DAYS.

Mon. Jan. 29             Exploring under the ocean. Doing some deep sea diving,
Tues. Jan. 30             creating colorful ocean scenes and shell creations. Making
Wed. Jan. 31              jellyfish, sharks and all kinds of fish.
Thurs. Feb. 1             Will the groundhog come out to play? Learning fun groundhog
Fri. Feb. 2                  facts and shadow play.

Mon. Feb. 5               Working on Valentine boxes and
Tues. Feb. 6               designing pretty heart crowns.
Wed. Feb. 7                Heart shape stamping
Thurs. Feb. 8             Conversation heart frames and
Fri. Feb. 9                   heart necklaces.

Mon. Feb. 12              “Love Monsters!” and Mardi Gras fun
Tues. Feb. 13              VALENTINES DAY PARTIES! PLEASE SEND 24 VALENTINES
Wed. Feb. 14              FOR YOUR CHILD TO PASS OUT TO THEIR FRIENDS.
………………….PLEASE DO NOT ADDRESS TO INDIVIDUAL CHILDREN. SIMPLY
…………………SIGN YOUR CHILD’S NAME. ALL CHILDREN WELCOME TO ATTEND
…………………ONE OF THE PARTIES!
Thurs. Feb. 15             Welcoming in the “Year of the Dog”. Colorful lanterns, fans and
Fri. Feb. 16                   dragons! How Chinese families prepare for the New Year.

Mon. Feb. 19               NO SCHOOL – PRESIDENT’S DAY
Tues. Feb. 20              Celebrating the Winter Olympics. Making the Olympic torch,
Wed. Feb. 21               rings, and medals. Participating in the Chalkboard Olympics!
Thurs. Feb. 22            KID’S PARTY – NO PARENTS ALLOWED!!
Fri. Feb. 23                 KID’S PARTY – NO PARENTS ALLOWED!!

PARENT’S NIGHT – FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 23 @ 7:00PM

Mon. Feb. 26              Happy Healthy Teeth. Tooth fairy fun, big happy smiles
Tues. Feb. 27              and toothbrush paintings.
Wed. Feb. 28              What makes our teeth happy?
Thurs. March 1           “Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss” Rhyming fun with Dr. Seuss
Fri. March 2                and friends. Enjoying our favorite Dr. Seuss books!

Printable Winter 2018 Curriculum PDF, Click to download!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,